*Just So You Know, You’ll Always Be The Most Valuable Thing In My Life ~ Review, Excerpt, Teaser, Author & Character Interview & Giveaway for “Not Another Soldier” by author Samantha Holt

NASbanner

TOUR-ABOUTBOOK

Title: Not Another Solider
Author: Samantha Holt
Genre: Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Release Date: 17th January 2014

NotAnotherSoldierPaperbackSmall

TOUR-BOOKSYNOPSIS

I’ve just buried my husband. I was going to divorce him and now he’s dead.

After five years as a military wife, Sienna is moving on. She’s keen to leave behind the misery of her marriage to Rob but for some reason the past won’t let her go. It doesn’t help that her closest friend, Nick, is also a soldier. Unfortunately Sienna is struggling to deny her attraction to the sexy marine, even knowing there can be no future in it. When the injured soldier admits he wants her just as badly, and has always wanted her, the fight to control her feelings becomes harder.

And now she’s learning things about her late husband that surprise even her. When the secrets of Rob’s life come to light, Sienna finds herself involved with some very nasty people and Nick is determined to protect her, no matter what.

As the danger grows to both her heart and her life, Sienna needs to decide if it was the army that was the problem or her late husband. Is Nick worth the heartache of being a military spouse again? And will he be able to protect her from the ring of drug dealers slowly closing in?

TOUR-BUYTBRLINK

AMAZON KINDLE | GOODREADS

TOUR-EXCERPT

Drawing in a breath, I open the door. Hopefully Nick’s all settled and I won’t even have to—

He’s sitting on my bed.

Damn the man. He studies me, slow and languorously, and I flex my fingers, longing to splay my hands across myself. My simple PJs now feel sexy and I’m definitely showing off too much skin.

“Can I—” I cough. “Is everything okay?”

Nick nods slowly, his eyes saying everything is more than okay. My skin heats and I hope he can’t see the redness that’s no doubt in my cheeks and on my chest.

“Yeah,” he says finally, gaze lingering on my bare legs. “I just wanted to make sure you were okay.”

“I’m fine.”

Though I don’t sound fine. Having your heart going the same rate as a freight train or your blood boiling beneath your skin probably isn’t fine. But that wasn’t what he meant.

He doesn’t look convinced.

“It’s been a crazy day and I am a little shaken but I’m okay, I swear. I just need a little rest and I need to get this place back to normal and then I’ll be great.”

Nick takes a moment to study me once more and stands. “All right. Just checkin’.”

“Oh.” I go to my closet. “Here’s some blankets.” I draw out two old ones that I usually use if the temperature drops and pass them over.

“Thanks.” He takes them from me.

“Do you need something to sleep in?” I bend down and rummage through the bottom drawer. “I might have some old T-shirts.” I find one and come up to standing.

His eyes are wary and he looks tense, slightly like he’s going to explode at any moment.

Baffled, I thrust out the T-shirt. “It’s one of Rob’s. I don’t know why I still have them really. Or would it be weird wearing his stuff?” He doesn’t respond so I hesitate before turning around and chucking the T-shirt back in the drawer. That was a stupid idea. “Sorry, guess it would be.”

With a wry laugh, he nods. “Yeah, I don’t want to be wearing his stuff, but I got to tell you, babe, I’m more worried about your night clothes.”

“What?”

“If you’re sleeping like that,” he motions with one hand down me, “then it’s going to make me sleeping there,” now he points to the couch, “a real trial. ‘Cause when you bend over in those shorts, all I want to do is take you to bed and peel them from you.”

NASteaser1

myfamilyheartreviewbutton

What can I say anyone who follows my reviews knows I am a devout reader of anything Samantha Holt. She is by far the best historical romance author I have ever read. But her newest move into Contemporary Romance WOW WOW WOW!!!! She nailed it with Sienna and Nick in Not Another Soldier.
Nick is a soldier, a wounded soldier, who even though has recovered and healed and is back to being a soldier has always longed for Sienna. Sienna was married to his best friend Rob. Sienna just buried her husband and with him his abusive demeaning ways. But what they both don’t know is Rob had a really nasty and dangerous secret.

I stare unseeingly at the TV. Guess I’d always held out hope that eventually Sienna would come to me and I could buy her a house. Rob had all that. Someone to come home to, to eat with and chat about his day. Damn, I envied that. But what kind of man wants their best friends wife?

I’ve battled with that guilt for so long, I’m used to it now. And Rob is dead and Sienna needs someone. Needs me, even if she doesn’t know it yet. I jump up and grab a beer from the mini-fridge I keep in my room. Crack it open, I take a determined drink. I’m done standing by Rob. I did my part, played the loyal friend and watched as he fucked up Sienna’s life. In the military, loyalty is everything. You don’t fight for the politicians or whatever bullshit reason they give you. When you’re on the battlefield, you fight for your buddies. But I’m done being loyal to Rob, even in death. He wasn’t the guy I used to know, the boy I played soldiers with as a kid. And I’ll be damned if he is going to ruin my life too.

I don’t know what I’m going to do yet, but somehow I’m going to get Sienna and make her mine, once and for all.

OMG I had chills not bad chills but OMG I am so jealous this is so the kind of guy I want to find me. 🙂 OMG I fell in love with Nick right then and I was cheering for him from that moment on. Sienna was going to be a hard nut to crack. Rob really did a number on her and with what they have coming at them they are going to need each other more than either of them realize.
This story doesn’t fail, it has its drama, it has its hills and valleys, I was pulling out the tissue, was laughing, and drooling my emotions were on a Samantha Holt roller coaster and it was all good.

“Oh God, touch me, Nick,” I beg as his fingers skim my hips and dip beneath my jeans.

Oh now doesn’t that get the ole’ fires stoked right there. Yeah just a taste of what you will find within the pages of Not Another Soldier. Okay wait lets do just one more – because I love to tease. LOL

“Come on, woman.” He kicks off his boots and yanks down his trousers. Frankly, I’m just enjoying the show. “It’s been two weeks and I have thought of nothing but you every second. Get naked and get in this shower.”

“Yes, sir.”

Nick and Sienna sure do know how to steam it up. If you choose to read this on your kindle be ware it might short circuit. Now I love a good erotica book, but Samantha has a way of turning up the steam and pulling you into the scene you would almost think it was you (oh don’t I wish – like I said I would trade places with Sienna any day – that Nick is one hot soldier).

Nick drops a kiss to my lips, a brief one, and releases me. “Just so you know, you’ll always be the most valuable thing in my life. And I do want to possess you, I can’t deny that. But first and foremost, I want to love you.”

OMG can I say it again – can I please, please, please have Nick – come on Samantha – share please. LOL okay can I just be the next female character in one of your hot little stories? There are tender moments like this all throughout this story. Now mind you there are moments when you are going to want to shake Sienna and say OMG girl would you just wake up already, like seriously – hello – Mr. Right is right there for you. And then there are moments you want to walk up to tall, blonde and delicious and say “alright hot stuff, back off a little you are doing this all wrong.” lol
You can’t go wrong reading this story. It isn’t one of those you know what is going to happen right from the start because guess what you don’t. And I won’t spoil it for you (okay any more than I already have lol) but you must know this read is amazing. There is strife, there is turmoil, there is danger, and there is hot, steamy, sexy, moments and yes even love.
–Additional Note from my co worker Quin who just finished reading this story – Wow! I just finished Not Another Soldier. She is awesome. Way to keep your attention from beginning to end. AWESOME READ! Thanks. (FYI “She” would be Samantha Holt) 🙂

images (4)

TOUR-MEETAUTHOR

Borderland Legacy - Author Photo

Samantha lives in a small village in England with her gorgeous twin girls and husband who is a trained bodyguard and ex-soldier (Yes, seriously!). She traditionally writes historical romances involving chivalrous knights and hot highlanders, but occasionally dabbles in contemporary romance. When she reluctantly leaves her computer, she enjoys exploring old ruins and indulging an early midlife crisis. Adrenaline filled suggestions for the bucket list are always welcome!

TOUR-FOLLOWLINKS

Find Samantha on Facebook

TOUR-GIVEAWAY

Prizes
1 Paperback copy of Not Another Soldier
3 x $2.99 ebook of readers choice

CLICK HERE TO ENTER THE GIVEAWAY

Author Interview2

AUTHOR INTERVIEW QUESTIONS

Q: Samantha you & I have known each other awhile now – and Not Another Soldier is different for you – how are you feeling about this leap into a different romance area?  

Yeah, we’ve known each other since very early on in my career! Crazy! I’m excited. It was really, reaaaally scary at first, but so far it’s been received so well, so I’m happy.

Q: As a Veteran I have to tell you I was excited that you wrote a romance book with a hot soldier – what was your inspiration for this book?

I was a military wife for ten years. That was my inspiration really. That, and having read lots of romantic suspense. I wanted to explore what military wives go through at the same time as writing something really exciting.

Q: Describe your book in 3 words?

Hot, enticing, absorbing. (I hope!)

Q: So tell us – did you have your husband act out the parts of Nick while drafting this book, being he is military and all himself (LOL)?

Ha ha, well I did get him to do one kiss for me, because I couldn’t figure out where his hands were meant to be LOL. Aside from that hubby did inspire a few things about Nick. They actually have the same tattoos. But that was about it.

Q: Will there be more of Nick and Sienna? 

I’ll never say never but for now, yes. I feel like they got everything they needed. I wouldn’t want to put them through anymore aggravation. They deserve to stay in their HEA I think.

Q: Are you currently working on a new book at this time?

I’m working on two. I’m finishing of my next Highland book, To Dream of a Highlander, and I’m working on my next contemporary which is tentatively titled, Too Much to Lose. It’s in the very early stages right now.

Q: If you could go on a date with Nick, where would you go & what would you do?

Oh God, I’d probably melt into a puddle of lust LOL I wouldn’t want to do anything formal, like a dinner. I think just chilling out and watching a film with him would be amazing.

Q: What motivates you?

My family. Everything I do, including writing, is for my family.

Q: Of all of the books you have written do you have a favorite & why?

It will change but at the moment, it’s Not Another Soldier. Before that, it was Borderland Bride.

Q: Have you ever had the opportunity to meet any of the royals (i.e. Prince William or Henry-he’s a cutie lol)?

No. I don’t think so anyway. We might have had some obscure relative visit my school once. They like to do that a lot. I must admit, I’m not so bothered by the Royal Family. I think American’s are more interested in them than we are, though we had great time celebrating Prince William’s wedding and the Queen’s jubilee recently. We had some amazing street parties.

HOW ABOUT A LITTLE THIS OR THAT – 

Chocolate or Vanilla? Chocolate!

Kinky or Sweet? Erm..kinky *blushes*

Tall, dark, handsome or blonde, surfer type? I always go for TDH!

Dine in or Dine out? Dine in.

Pancakes or Waffles? Pancakes

Sunset or Sunrise? Sunset. I would quite happily never see a sunrise again if I had the choice.

Steak or Chicken? Steak.

Summer or Winter? Summer.

Shower or Bath? Bath. My biggest weakness. I love baths.

CAN YOU SHARE WITH YOUR READERS YOUR TOP 10 BOOK BOYFRIENDS –

Zack – Getting Rid of Bradley by Jennifer Crusie

Finn – Highland Haven

Gawain – Tainted by Christina Phillips

Mr Darcy – Pride and Prejudice

Mr Knightley – Sense and Sensibility

Gus  – Undercurrent by Lisa Harris

Gabe – The Bounty Hunter by Vicki Lewis Thompson

Mr Thornton – North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Jason – Tango in Paradise by Elysa Hendricks

Liam – All Hands Below by Lelani Black

Character Interview2

CHARACTER INTERVIEW QUESTIONS

  • Hello Nick – okay so as an Army Veteran I have to ask what made you choose the Marines?

Honestly, probably ‘cause of watching action films. I wanted to be badass like those guys. *chuckles* I’m not even sure when I decided I wanted to be a Marine, but I can’t really remember a time when I didn’t dream of being in the military.

  • So how is military life these days?

I’m still adjusting, you know? What with the injury and everything. I’m happy but I’ll always miss being out there in the thick of it.  I don’t think I’ll ever get used to not being able to go join in the action. But, hell, I can’t regret getting to spend more time with Sienna.

  • How are you and Sienna? Last I heard she was adjusting really well to military life this time.

*Grins* Yeah, my girl is amazing. What can I say? I always knew she had it in her. Just took a bit of persuading.

  • What does life hold for you and Sienna these days?

We’re just taking each day as it comes. It’s hard to plan too far ahead with my job. All I can say is, life it pretty damned sweet right now.

  • And little ones, what is the latest on that?

Ah, man, well, we’re waiting on the arrival of baby number one. Only one month to go. If it’s up to me we’ll be making lots more.

  • So you’re a hot little number (don’t act like you don’t know it – lol) do you have any “single” brothers – lol?

*Laughs* Well, I don’t have any brothers but I know plenty of single Marines. I’m sure they’d jump at the chance for a date with you.

  • If you could take Sienna on a date anywhere in the world where would you go & why?

Oh, Sienna’s a real bookworm. Loves Jane Austen and all that stuff, so I’d take her to England to see all the sights and visit where her favorite writers lived. *Shrugs* I’d probably be happy anywhere as long as I’ve got her, but it would be so worth it to see the smile on her face.

  • Alright before we close this interview you have to tell me what is your one “guilty pleasure”?

I’d say Sienna but I don’t ever feel guilty for…erm… enjoying her. Probably bacon. Sienna nags me for eating too much of it but she makes the best bacon sandwiches.

Thank you so very much Nick for taking the time to sit down and chat with me today. Now go break down and re-assemble that M-16 in under 2 minutes soldier. LOL  

Tour Hosted By:
myfamilyheartbutton

6 responses to “*Just So You Know, You’ll Always Be The Most Valuable Thing In My Life ~ Review, Excerpt, Teaser, Author & Character Interview & Giveaway for “Not Another Soldier” by author Samantha Holt

Leave a Reply

