~A Resistance is Coming…. *Guest Post, Top 5, Top 10, Excerpt, Bios* Uprising by Allana Kephart & Melissa Simons

Uprising Tour

 

Book Info-
Title– Uprising
Series– The Dolan Prophecies Series Book #1
By– Allana Kephart & Melissa Simmons
Publication Date– April 18th, 2014
Genre– New Adult Dystopian

 

amazon

Blurb-
The year 2102–the world as it was no longer exists. Ravaged by nuclear war and polluted almost to the point of no return, Earth was dying. When the faeries came and brought their healing magic, humanity was grateful at first. Centuries of damage repaired in just five years, and during the course of that rehabilitation, they invaded. Quietly overthrown, the human race is now enslaved. The majority doesn’t even realize they have no free will. Branded, herded and kept only to further the agendas of the Fae Courts, humanity could be facing extinction.

But a resistance is coming…

Fianna Dolan has spent her entire young life preparing herself for an uprising against the Fae. One scorching summer night Fi’s parents leave and never return. Thrust into a position of power she never expected, Fi struggles with her new position and the responsibility it entails. When a secretive fae man known only as Flint breaches the city’s defenses claiming he can help, Fi begins to doubt everything she’s ever considered truth. As betrayals and deception come to light, will Fi want the answers she’s been seeking, or will trusting Flint lead to her destruction?

 

TOUR-BUYTBRLINK

 

Goodreads / Kindle / Amazon Paperback / Smashwords / Createspace

 

ebooks

Excerpt2

Excerpt-
I shook my head, looked around the room and instead, focused on other details. The music was loud, making the floor shake and causing people to scream at each other to be heard. Astrid’s skimpy, black bejeweled shorts and midriff-baring red shirt got the attention of a deeply tanned young man with short dark hair, and he approached me through the crowd of other half-naked individuals and I stiffened involuntarily. He looked harmless enough, but he reeked of alcohol and his eyes were hazy as he loomed over me in a way that made me want to run away and hide. Khan wasn’t paying a damn bit of attention and I didn’t have a guard beside me as I always did. I wasn’t used to being left alone, and I really didn’t like feeling so exposed.

His full lips moved and I knew he was trying to talk to me, but with the music blaring as loud as it was I couldn’t understand a word that came out of his mouth. Knowing I was nearly deaf with the music, the man reached out and rested his hand on my waist; trying to pull me away from the wall and speak with his hands. He stumbled though, and ended up sandwiching me between himself and the smooth concrete. His mouth opened and he was laughing, I’m sure, but I felt like I was going to throw up. I tried pushing him away from me, but he didn’t seem to understand and smirked down at me; his hand sliding from my waist to the bare skin of my thigh as he fingered the too-high hem of my shorts. Panic gripped my throat but before anything could happen, he froze. His eyes grew wide and his brow furrowed, and slowly his mouth opened and he looked as though he couldn’t breathe properly; giving me a pleading look as though I could help him. I didn’t know what was going on until he hacked and blood spilled from his lips, dripping down his chin.

The music abruptly cut off when someone pulled the plug and suddenly I could hear him, this horrid choking sound coming from deep in his throat. His knees buckled out from under him and he fell in front of me; landing in a heavy lump on the floor with a blade hilt sticking out of his back. I was eye to eye with one of my fathers’ guards, and one look down confirmed my thoughts—he had that boy’s blood on his hands.

I couldn’t hold in the banshee scream that tore itself from my throat.

Khan looked up when the music cut, and when he saw the guards swarming in the building and one of them in front of me, he took off in the other direction. I yelled for him, but it was like he didn’t even remember me. The guard rolled his eyes and extended a hand; wrapping it around my upper arm and yanking me forward.

“You are in an obscene amount of trouble,” he hissed in my ear just as a male voice cried out, “It’s the Fae!”

 

Character Bio2

Fi- Dream Cast
Fianna Aoife Dolan-
Nickname(s)- Fi
Age- 19
Height- 5’2”
Weight-113 lbs (not that it’s any of your business, geesh)
Personality- It really depends on who you ask, honestly…
Affinity- None
Abilities- Can you be more specific? I’m a perfectly capable human being, I have many abilities. I especially enjoy my ability to make coffee–was that what you had in mind??
Last Book You Read- ‘Love is a Mixed Tape’ by Rob Sheffield
Favorite Quote- “It is not fair to ask of others what you are unwilling to do yourself.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt
Biggest Fear- failing
Last Song You Listened To- ‘Between Two Lungs’ by Florence + The Machine
Favorite Food- my Aunt Ruth’s shepherd’s pie (her coffee cake is a very close second..)

 

Eirnin- Dream Cast

Eirnin Kearney Dolan-
Nickname(s)- Eir
Age- 16
Height- 6’7”
Weight- 225
Personality- I’m pretty easygoing, funny, a likeable guy by most accounts.
Affinity- None!
Abilities- Seer / Empath Extraordinaire
Last Book You Read- ‘Dark Justice’ by Jack Higgins
Favorite Quote- “The best way out is through.” ~Robert Frost
Biggest Fear- being unable to help the people I love
Last Song You Listened To- ‘Let Me Kiss You’ by Morrissey
Favorite Food- I’m a teenage boy, anything edible is my favorite food… 😉

Flint- Dream Cast

Flint-
Nickname(s)- Hellboy, Hellion, Ass… None that would be considered “nice”.
Age- 278 years, but physically I look like I’m in my early twenties–lucky me.
Height- 5’8”
Weight- 162
Personality- I am a raging pain in the neck and I am very proud of it. 😉
Affinity- Fire
Abilities- I have the ability to talk and piss you off at the same time. Does that count? And I can run very fast as for ‘physical’ abilities.
Last Book You Read- “The Mists of Avalon” by Marion Zimmer Bradley. It was my baby sister’s favorite book of all time.
Favorite Quote- “Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.” ~Mark Twain
Biggest Fear- You could not pay me to answer this question.
Last Song You Listened To- “Shaking” by Sugarcult *smirks*
Favorite Food- … *chuckles* Okay, I am going to presume you are hoping for a G-rated answer so I am really not sure what to say here. As of right now Fi’s aunt, Ruth, makes very good blueberry muffins.

Lumi- Dream Cast

Lumi-
Nickname(s)- Lulu, Princess
Age- 546 (and yes, I do mean years)
Height- 5’1”
Weight- 50,000 grams, about 110 pounds
Personality- Well, I’ve heard I’m an angel and I’ve heard I’m a prude, so I guess it depends on who you ask.
Affinity- Air
Abilities- I am an awesome ninja spy, if I do say so myself.
Last Book You Read- “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott, per the Dolans’ suggestion.
Favorite Quote- “Do what you feel in your heart to be right–for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt
Biggest Fear- That’s a hard one… The thought of the people I care about getting hurt keeps me up at night sometimes.
Last Song You Listened To- “Brick by Boring Brick” by Paramore
Favorite Food- Ice cream! *coughs* Um. Yeah, I love mint chocolate chip ice cream.

 

Top Ten2

Top 10 Most Sinful Moments (We went with food here..)

Melissa’s Top 5-

1- Turtle Cheesecake
2- Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies
3- Apple Pie Sundae with Caramel Sauce
4- Hot fudge Oreo brownie sundae
5- Tiramisu

Allana’s Top 5-
(my life is not sinful so every ‘sin’ I’ve experienced has to do with food lol)

1.) Lemon Cream Cake
2.) Chocolate Mousse
3.) Chicken ‘n’ Dumplings
4.) Chocolate Cannoli
5.) Tiramisu

Top 10 Favorite Romance Movies

Allana’s Top 5-

1.) Pretty Woman
2.) The Proposal
3.) 50 First Dates
4.) He’s Just Not That Into You
5.) The Last Song

Melissa’s Top 5-

1- The Notebook
2- When Harry met Sally
3- You’ve Got Mail
4- Sleepless in Seattle
5- Say Anything

 

Guest Post2

What would you share with others on becoming a published author that would make it just a little easier for them?

Hi Tonya! Thanks for having us today! We are super excited to be here! What can we share with others to help make things easier for them about being a published author? Honestly, we don’t know. As supportive as the indie community is, there isn’t a handbook that gets passed out when you hit that publish button. As of right now, we’ve been ‘published’ for just a little over two weeks and it is most definitely a learning process. If we were to give any advice it would be this: Love what you write; passionately and with your whole heart because if you’re not behind it, no one else will be either. And secondly, do not ever back down when you are chasing your dream. Don’t let anyone, no matter how ‘established’ they are, tell you that you’re wrong to want what you do.

 

Playlist2

Here are just a few of the songs that inspired Eir’s voice as we wrote ‘Uprising’

Breaking Benjamin-
So Cold
Sooner or Later
Breath
Until the End
Firefly
Give Me A Sign

Fun.-
Some Nights
Why am I the One
Carry On

Imagine Dragons-
Radioactive
Round and Round
Demons

The White Stripes-
Ball and a Biscuit
Seven Nation Army
Blue Orchid
Hello Operator

Shinedown-
Burning Bright
Sin with a Grin
Call Me
Save Me
If You Only Knew

Here are just a few of the songs that inspired Fi’s voice as we wrote ‘Uprising’

Florence + the Machine-
Cosmic Love
Blinding
Shake it Out
Heavy in Your Arms
Dog Days are Over

Tori Amos-
A Sorta Fairytale
Girl
Precious Things
Little Earthquakes
God
Hey Jupiter

Pink-
Who Knew
Funhouse
Whataya Want From Me

The Civil Wars-
Poison & Wine
20 Years
Barton Hollow

Counting Crows-
Good Time
A Murder of One
Omaha
Monkey

Sara Bareilles-
Machine Gun
Breathe Again
Gravity
Brave
Basket Case

Fall Out Boy-
The Phoenix
Alone Together
Dead on Arrival
XO
My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark

Panic! At the Disco-
This is Gospel
I Write Sins not Tragedies
9 in the Afternoon
But it’s Better if You Do

 

Meet The Author2

Lana author photo
Allana Kephart has been making things up and bending people to her will from a very young age. She loves animals and reading and spends a large amount of time thinking up ways to torment her characters. She shares a brain, a love of coffee and the color purple with her alter ego/best friend/co-author, Melissa Simmons.

 

Goodreads  /  Amazon  /  Blog  /  Facebook  /  Twitter  /  Pinterest  /  Smashwords

The Dolan Prophecies Series Blog

 

Mel author photo

Melissa Simmons is an avid reader who married her soul mate and is the proud mother of a spoiled cat. She spends her days helping promote independent authors and doing what the voices in her head tell her to. She shares a brain, a love of coffee and the color purple with her alter ego/best friend/co-author, Allana Kephart.

 

Goodreads  /  Amazon  /  Blog  /  Facebook  /  Twitter  /  Pinterest  /  Smashwords

The Dolan Prophecies Series Blog

 

Giveaway

Rafflecopter Code-
a Rafflecopter giveaway

2 responses to “~A Resistance is Coming…. *Guest Post, Top 5, Top 10, Excerpt, Bios* Uprising by Allana Kephart & Melissa Simons

Leave a Reply

