‘She Would Never Be Heard From Again’ ~~Personal Review~~ The Good Girl by Dawn Robertson & Lily White

 the-good-girl-cover-blog-size

BOOK TITLE – The Good Girl

 GENRE – Dark, Erotic, Romance, Suspense, Thriller

 AUTHORS – Dawn Robertson & Lily White

 PUBLISHED – May 22, 2014

 # OF HEARTS – 4 BLEEDING

BOOK SYNOPSIS

School from nine to four.
Bartending from nine to two.
Wake up and do it all over again.
All while depending on no one but myself…
because everyone in my life has repeatedly let me down.

I cling to the one thing that will always remain a constant in my life: Art.
Body art, photography, painting… you name it and my interest is piqued.
Almost as strong as his interest in me.

I wanted nothing to do with him
But he was the type who took what he wanted.
His hate became his obsession
And his obsession became so much more.

I am his good girl
And I wonder if he will ever let me go

***Content Disclaimer – This book contains descriptions of violence and is only intended for mature audiences 18 years of age and older***

Image11

The Good Girl – By Dawn Robertson & Lily White – 4 Stars

​​Wow this was a really twisted & an ​unbelievably dark ​book. Don’t get me wrong it was very good. As a matter of fact its probably one of the few where I read the entire thing and forgot to highlight anything or jot down anything for my review. ​I don’t know if it was because I wasn’t sure it would be a good review teaser or if I was just too in shock at all the abuse and horribleness at times. ​

I have loved Dawn’s writing style since the first time I came across one of her books (The Her’s series) I have never read anything by Lily before. I am telling you now these two wrote a very powerful book.​ But please be forewarned its far from your average romance suspense. ​I look forward to reading Lilly’s books and of course new books by Dawn.

This book is about two very torchered and troubled souls. Eleni grew up with drug addicted parents who didn’t give two shakes about her, beat her, and then left her to pretty much fend for herself. Eleni is going to college and working in a bar and lives just about every moment of her life in an alcohol induced state to try and calm the past from rearing its ugly head. And Gabriel whose parents were taken from him in a horrific car accident that he was a part of, leaving him scarred for life in more ways than one. ​​Gabriel lives his life stalking Eleni and hating anyone who has an addiction.

Fate works in very mysterious ways and eventually these two are drawn together but no ​​t​ how you expect. The horrible abuse that Gabriel inflicts on Eleni all in the name of “making her become the woman he see’s her to be”. The guy is definitely sick and depraved. Twisted is a nice word for it. Eleni’s mouth and her attitude get her into more trouble with this guy. I give her props for wanting to stick up for herself but sometimes girl please I would have been keeping my mouth shut to avoid that toss down the stairs. This story grabbed me and sucked me in. I swear my mouth stayed agape the entire time I was reading. Shock, fear, shock, unbelievable what she goes through.

​Gabriel is one twisted mofo. What he does to Eleni OMG. My mind was flipping back and forth this man was two people in one for sure. One minute you are thinking okay maybe there is hope for her​ then you are like OMG this man needs shock therapy for sure. And Eleni how she didn’t snap a long time ago I don’t know. I think I would have lost it what she goes through.​

The ending was not what I expected to happen at all. What a real twist there. ​I can’t say if I were in Eleni’s shoes I would have chosen that path, no I think I would have put his nut job of an arse out of his misery. LOL​ What a truly amazing ending​ though. Before I knew it, it was 4am and I had read the entire book in one sitting.

I didn’t highlight any funny parts, or steamy parts. ​ I truly don’t think there were any. Yes there was sex in the book but I didn’t consider it your normal hot & heavy, get down and dirty sexy sex. It was raw, it was powerful, it was dark. Honestly there is a lot of anger in this book, hurt, pain, from both Eleni and Gabriel and the outcome of that​, its very gripping and very sad. I cried a lot, I shuddered a lot. I wanted to reach in and save Eleni, to get rid of Gabriel for her.

​Overall it was a very great read. I wont say I agree with Eleni’s choice in the end far from it but to each their own. Well done Dawn & Lilly.

Bleeding Hearts

 

GET YOUR COPY OF THE GOOD GIRL HERE – AMAZON.COM

 

Tonya

One response to “‘She Would Never Be Heard From Again’ ~~Personal Review~~ The Good Girl by Dawn Robertson & Lily White

Leave a Reply

